Red’s MS 150 Observations (it’s a ride, not a race)

I was delirious with hypoxia most of the time, so I really don’t remember much, this is what I remember:

Day One – 99ish miles:

40 degrees is dang cold on a bike.

It’s a ride, not a race.

There is no such thing as getting ahead of the crowd at the Houston-Austin MS150.

It’s a ride, not a race.

Holy cow Houston drivers are patient!  I didn’t see any drivers get upset or act the fool even as they wound their way through 1000 riders at 4 mph.

Bikes, bikes as far as the eye can see....

Bikes, bikes as far as the eye can see….

Sorry to all the guys I got mad at for not pulling… I didn’t realize I had dropped you (although I should have known when I stopped hearing Cassidy).

Sometimes I wanted someone else to pull simply because I was tired of saying “On yer LEEFT” every 3 seconds.

The hills in Houston on the first day were not actually hills (or, there is a difference between a “hill” and a “slight incline”).

At some in point in your life on a ride you will be willing to part with cash, jewelry, and quite possibly your first born for some chamois butter.

kinda how my butt felt

kinda how my butt felt

Inexplicably, after killing myself on the course all day, at mile 80 I was still passing people struggling on 50 pound mountain bikes.  How the heck were they still in front of me?

When I find myself getting really mad an aggressive when other riders don’t get out of my way fast enough, I need to have a %$#*ing cookie and chill the #*^% out.

It’s a ride, not a race.

The timer on my bike computer wasn’t working correctly, but I think I finished 99+ miles Day One in 4:52.

Day Two- 8Oish miles:

The hills (and riders) in the park are not nearly as bad as the rumors about them.

Note to the Austin ride directors, there is no way to get 12,000 cyclist into the bike lane on Dean Keaton Rd, so really the cones only served as obstacles to 12,000 riders.

helpful traffic cones

helpful traffic cones

The only way to do this ride is on a team – Go team Radio Active!

Team Radio Active!

Team Radio Active!

I am simply unable to take it easy on my tribike.

Out of 13,000 bikes, mine was still the prettiest! 😉

I don’t care how fast you ride the first 173 miles, you will average about 11 miles an hour on the last 7 miles through Austin.

I may have fallen into the side of a police car on Red River before MLK, but since the police officer assured me that he saw nothing I’m fairly certain I didn’t (’cause they’re trained to see that stuff).

Holy Crap the crowd at the finish is bigger than the Austin marathon.

No matter how silly it may seem at the time, you will regret not posing holding your bike above your head in front of the Capitol.

times like this it's nice that my bike only weighs about 4 pounds

times like this it’s nice that my bike only weighs about 4 pounds

FEEL FREE TO COMMENT WITH YOUR OWN OBSERVATIONS…

About jredtripp

Triathlete Extraordinaire!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red’s MS 150 Observations (it’s a ride, not a race)

  1. Rusty Brooks says:

    If you’re mad at me for not pulling the first day up til lunch you’re going to have to suck it up, I was barely hanging on in the first place. I guarantee you that was the fastest 50 miles I ever did and I couldn’t have done it on my own – thanks!

Leave a Reply

